My Birthday Road Trip To Negril

Sounding almost like a broken record, there are so many things that we had planned to do this year that just did not happen. Special occasions, such as birthdays, for most of us was spent indoors reminiscing about what we did last year or what we had planned to do this year, but just couldn’t. If you haven’t realized by now, from reading my previous blogs, I love to travel and experience new things, and when I got into this business of being an Independent Travel Agent, my goal was also to be able to travel more. As we entered the month of December, my birth month, I started to wonder to myself if I would really be celebrating my birthday this year at home, and technically I did, but knowing me, I had to get in some kind of “outing” so I starting to do some research about where I could go and what I could do, safely of course. After being cooped up at home behind my laptop for months, I reached out to two of my closest friends and convinced them to take a road trip with me to Negril, which is approximately two and a half hours drive from my home.

I had just recently written my blog about the option of doing a staycation, since vacations outside of one’s country may not be ideal right now and frankly, even though many persons are braving the pandemic and taking trips nonetheless, it’s not something the majority is comfortable with. I decided I was going to take the plunge and take my own advise about doing a staycation, I mean I do live where others come for vacation, Jamaica is one of the most beautiful Caribbean Islands, so why not explore home?

So my search led me to this really lovely resort in Negril Jamaica, called Skylark Beach Resort, before my search I never heard of it, shame on me. I will take this opportunity to say that, if you are planning a trip to Jamaica and you want to stay at a resort that is not an all inclusive, but gives you the option to be free to explore authentic Jamaica, without the confinement, then this is one of the places I would recommend for you.

I was able do the booking on my own which was awesome, yes this was my first time booking for myself as Agent and the great thing about it is that I can also earn commission from doing my personal bookings, how cool is that. Now, because I am a local, a Covid 19 Test was not required for me however, I did have to fill out a Q&A form to confirm if I ever had it or came into contact with anyone who has or had it recently and a mandatory temperature check was also conducted. A temperature check and sanitization is required everywhere you go. If you are traveling from outside the country, you are required to have a negative Covid 19 PCR or Antigen test, as well as an approved Travel Authorization form to enter the country.

The resort was even more beautiful than the pictures displayed on their website, very intimate with vibrant turquoise and ocean blues accented by modern wooden furniture, as well as hints of Jamaican art posted throughout the resort. Covid protocols where evident at check in, as we had to wash our hands and sanitize before approaching the front desk. To avoid a lengthy check in, a pre-check in process was required prior to arrival. The room was very comfortable, though there was no in room entertainment except for a blue tooth radio, which again, is perfect for persons who want to enjoy authentic Jamaica and just really need somewhere nice to rest. Mini fridge was stocked with alcoholic and non-alcoholic options that came at an additional cost. There is also a restaurant on site, Miss Lily’s, unfortunately we did not experience the food, because we decided to dine at Margaritaville, which was amazing. I could tell by the smell from the kitchen, though, that the food would not disappoint. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I also observed the protocol of distant seating arrangement at the restaurant.

The beach did not disappoint, located on the seven mile stretch of gorgeous ocean view, soft ivory sand, with the freedom to walk from one section of the beach to the other and beach chairs with overhead covers, made it very comfortable to lounge and take in the beauty. And don’t get me started on the sunset that evening, this wasn’t my first time experiencing Negril’s sunset, but it never ceases to amaze me with it’s beauty.

We also visited Skylark’s sister property, Rockhouse Hotel which was another great experience in it self and let me tell you, the view is like no other. The infinity pool was incredible, if you are under 5ft and can’t swim, do not venture in further than the steps. The water was salty and chlorinated and again the protocols where observed. The view from the restaurant was amazing. We did not spend much time here as there was a wedding schedule for that afternoon. If you are looking for a hotel with cottages, natural lush greenery and an incredible view, check out Rockhouse Hotel. It is my intention to visit this property again.

Though I did this road trip the weekend prior to my birthday, which was on a Monday, I am grateful for the opportunity I got to get out of the house. It felt so liberating, I had not left my house to do anything but essential activities since March, a whole 10 months! I am even more convinced that travel gives you a sense of new energy and focus like nothing else can.

Whether you are in Jamaica or live in another country and you are reading this blog, here’s what I want you to do. Go to my website, register as a client and book with me the next time you plan to travel, easy, right?

I wish for you all a wonderful holiday season, from my family to yours, have a very Merry Christmas!

Ashalee Bingham

Published by Ashalee Bingham

Hi! My name is Ashalee, author of "The Lies I Told Myself", an independent travel agent and owner of Vacation Savvy based in Jamaica. I have worked in the Tourism Industry for over seven years, so I have a wealth of knowledge and experience to guide you through your vacation planning. Throughout the pandemic, like many persons, I was thrown in a loop of uncertainty. I found myself jobless and lost. It was the perfect opportunity for me to find myself and I realized, I really didn't like where my life was going. That was a wake-up call, to say the least. But! Despite going through an unpleasant 2020 I was led to start my own business and I publish my first book in November the following year. Going through the process of change is never easy but with God in the midst of it all, in the end, I have found, that its worth it. In this blog, I'll be sharing with you my personal life journey, stuff on vacation and travel, as well as anything else that I feel is worth sharing. Happy reading and tell a friend to tell a friend about this blog. Feel free to follow me on IG @vacationsavvy and @asha_bing

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started